Everything in its place

For my followers 5 and all those who just pop in every now and again, I have a question for you. Does anyone know what the tune is for “Flight of the bumble bee?” Well, let me just say, that was my anthem this weekend. My husband and I got a new dinette set to replace the broken table we’ve been using for four years and new couches that prick your subconscious with malice for not having been bought sooner.  After two days of emptying closets, packing boxes and making room for movers to haul away an entire bedroom set, Michael and I now have a sewing/craft room. My husband is so delighted that his Husqvarna has a new home, he is spending the day finishing his Amish School house quilt while I’m at work in a fit of insane jealousy. On the other hand, being at work does have it’s advantages. Since I’m nowhere near home, I have at the very least, the ability to keep your apprised of projects in progress and of course my pending follow-up post to Mailart which will feature how to make envelopes with your own personal flair. I’m kind of excited about it because I haven’t truly gotten into using my craft stuff in awhile and to be able to share some thoughts and techniques with others just seems like a night of worthwhile fun.

My sampler quilt is still in the same state of affairs as it was last week. I’m sorry to say that I wasn’t able to work on it at all. I’m trying not to beat myself up about it but Michael bought me # 5 of Nature’s Garden, a Joann’s BOTM (block of the month.) I haven’t started working on it yet though I only need blocks 9 & 10 to finish off the set. He said he was going to buy them for me next week, so I imagine I will start on them sometime shortly after. Thus leaving me a very small window to finish  the framework on the sampler and put together the twisted ribbon on the border of the quilt. To top it all off my husband has been very vocal as of late, in regards to the fact that I still haven’t made him a quilt that’s just for him and nobody else. If you haven’t already guessed, this is a topic pinned for a later post as well which will be titled the same name as the quilt itself I will be making him.  Needless to say I have already starting putting the pallet colors together and already I know its going to be fantastic.  Running out of time but not topics for future discussion. Surely if ever there was a lot in life, that would be mine. So tonight/tomorrow morning, part two of mailart and sometime mid week, hopefully progress pictures of the sampler and next week, Nature’ s Garden BOTM.  Until then, I hope everyone is enjoying a safe and wonderful weekend.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

5 thoughts on “Everything in its place

  1. Kay… You know walt feels the same way about “I make everyone a quilt but not him”. While Karigan is gone I hope to be able to make hima blanket all to himself.. Now I have the pattern; all I need to do is make up my mind about the material I want to use.. I see a trip to hancocks for a full day of material shopping… lol.. talk to you soon.. I have to get back to cooking breakfast for walt… lol..

  2. Whenever I finish a quilt my asks “Where is that one going?”. Lately, I’ve decided that they will just stay at my house! 🙂

    • Either someone is jealous or has separation anxiety over your works of art. I know Michael does. Though he has been pretty good as of late in being a generous gift giver, there are certain quilts in the home that he wont give up to anyone. The remedy I think is, make more.

Leave a Reply

